Phew!

What a summer I’ve just had.

My goal this summer was to write a little blog post about everything I did – every event I worked, every new friend I made, every historical site I visited, every weekend I spent. But pretty quickly I realised this was a marathon mission.

So, in brief, over this summer I have…

worked 3 cricket matches

ran 7 bars

attended 2 boxing matches

erected 2 merchandise tents

been on 1 TV show

worked 2 vintage festivals

attended 2 weddings

met 6 old friends

slept in 3 tents

served over 5000 alcoholic drinks

attended 1 baby shower

and met 7 celebrities

wow.

I don’t even know where to begin or where to end or even if this summer had a middle. I haven’t had a weekend off in over 8 weeks, i’ve met hundreds of crazy new people, and I’ve laughed like mad. This summer has been one of the best of my life. I now have a much clearer idea of what I want to do in the future (events – can you tell?!) how I want to live my life, and what I want to do for the near future. I even have a business plan (eek!)

Things are feeling pretty smug and peachy.

My weekends have usually been Monday – Wednesday. Typically I’ve been working Thursday – Sunday with wild shifts and crazy early starts. I’ve had shifts where I’ve had to crawl upstairs afterwards and my mum’s given me a 45 minute foot rub. But I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

I even got tweeted by Dick n Dom!

Yep, that’s right.

Early 2000s kids TV heros Dick n Dom. They became regulars at our cocktail shack in Jamie Oliver’s Big Feastival.

cqzdtwbxgaauifp
bogies!!

And yes we met the big man Jamie too! A few weeks later I got to meet him again when Tash and I went to the showing of Jamie’s Friday Night Feast. It was amazing! We ate food that I would never have tried in a million years, and got it served to us by Jamie, Jimmy and the celebrity guest who we aren’t allowed to mention until January. Exclusive or what! Jamie O even liked one of my tweets. At this point I’m pretty much a B lister. Celebrity Big Brother here I come!

I’ve had evenings where my feet are so swollen I can’t take my shoes off, shifts so wild I’m running on empty with two hours to go, and rain so heavy that my camp bed has been flooded beyond belief. But it’s been everything I could want and more. I’ve had a face covered in glitter, then woken up and covered myself in it again. I’ve had showers where I’ve had to straddle the floor and dead insects. I’ve danced with strangers, had nights out in bar uniform, acquired hundreds of event tshirts, served my dream guy Pimms (hi Radio 1’s Greg James) and even hosted a stage and managed to create a dance off and wheelbarrow race (with prizes!) for the crowd.

I still don’t have any of the money back I’m owed, I’m still moving all my apartment stuff back into my parent’s house and I’m still completely overwhelmed by all the crazy stuff that’s happened to me this year.

But I made it, and I’ve had the most fun I’ve had in absolutely ages.

And I’ve got so much to look forward to!

It’s my birthday in less than a month (and I’m terrified!), I’m going on two birthday weekends, I’ve got more events to do, Mum and I are looking at a new business idea and I’m spending my new years in Edinburgh seeing Paolo Nutini. Life is gonna be so bloody awesome!

This weekend alone I’m going to be erecting a mercandise tent and selling clothes to wild spartan athletes. Then I’m attending a ball pit party (!) on Friday night with my best pal, and earning some serious dollar. Life is pretty good.

Cheers to Summer 2016, you’ve been a blast!

Leave a Reply

