Edinburgh at NYE (and beyond)

I’m sat in bed eating cold carbonara and not having washed.

New Year has killed me.

Months and months ago my best pal, Tash and I decided to revist Edinburgh for NYE. We went a few years ago with her family where we were cute and young and decided we deserved to re-do it but without the parents bit. So instead we invited her cousins who joined us last time, and our pal Ben. They each invited two more people and we had a cute lil clan of 9.

Every year Edinburgh does a massive concert with a great musician. When we went we saw KT Tunstall. This year we were hoping and praying they would have the ultimate sex god Paolo Nutini there. It was just wishful thinking. Except it wasn’t. We found that out one day when I stayed at Tash’s and she threw her phone across the bed in excitement. Best way to learn of a gig ever.

Soooo we got two aparentments for us and waited and waited until the big day.

The first day was pretty dull tbh. We spend a lot of time pushing a lot of bags into a smallish car (shoutout to Tash for driving) and being a bit squashed, but we did laugh a horrendous amount and sing very loudly and badly, and then got very lost once we arrived.

Thankfully the other guys got there before us five so we managed to find them and the apartments and then it was drinking time. Thank God for the Co-op round the corner. We essentially spent the night playing funny drinking games and then wandering round town. It was pretty dead so we went to some randoms pubs and then staggered home.

New Years Eve was way more fun. We had a cute breakfast together then all went into town. We thought we’d be cultured AF so we went to the National Gallery and hung around being arty as and taking selfies. Obvs.

We then wandered up to the castle but it was £15 each so we just hung about in the gift shop being weird until we got bored and strutted back home. One thing I will say is that all the hill have greatly improved the perkiness of my butt and I kinda wanna move there just for the free exercise. Thank u Edinburgh.

Obviously it was NYE so we were drinking and also seeing Paolo (!) so we went next door to the other guys’ apartments and played more games, and I earned the nickname Subtle Lou. Cheers boys.

After getting very sloppy we walked back in to town to see the main man Paolo. We were fangirling like mad, and Cleo and I were very keen to be at the front. So, being v drunk we held hands and sprinted to the barrier. I fell over and got mud all over my ass, and then we got stopped because we didn’t have our tickets with us. Good job, girls.

However, we did get pretty fucking close in the end.

I can’t even start to describe how good Paolo was. I’ve seen him twice before and he just does not fail to improve. Honestly I thought I’d died and gone to heaven he was amazing. I kept very loudly saying how overwhelmingly hot he was too and getting a bit too Thirsty and Excited. Obviously we couldn’t leave because we were so close to the front and excited so by the end of it Tash and I were both close to tears because we needed a wee so much. Luckily we made it, and then merrily stumbled on to the street party.

Weirdly, we ended up in the pub Tash and I went to 7 years ago, which was a throwback. It played lots of cheesy music and then we scampered off to the only club  that was letting people in. It was a bit of a weird vibe, it was very dark and everyone seemed very old, but I did get tequila bought for me and then I ran away immediately after. Such a charmer.

Eventually we ended up back home, after crashing a very rich house party and stealing broken champagne (don’t ask) and in  a brand new year (wtf?!)

Our first day of 2017 was pretty good

We all started out very dead, but decided we Must Be Productive and utilise our time left in Scotland. We decided to walk back up the hill (why?!) and visit Camera Obscura. Tash and I only ended up doing it while the others did the Cathedral but it was so amazing. The view from the top was completely beautiful and insane, especially with all the Christmas lights and craziness. Everything was very interactive which was really good fun, and we could take loads of pictures. There was this one vortex tunnel thing that you walk through and it feels like you’re spinning. While it’s totally amazing and really fun I do not recommend doing that on a hangover. My tummy was falling out of me (granted we did run through it several times) and I felt like I was a gonner. But I’m tough as balls so I survived.

When Tash and I arrived back at the apartment the other cuties had cooked us burgers so we had them and chilled for a bit. One thing we all really wanted to do was a Ghost Walk, and after scouring the internet we finally found a last minute tour with places left on it. Due to me being Totally Awful we went late and an uber cancelled on us, so we had to do the 23 minute walk in 25 minutes. But hills.

Ben and I took the lead, which also involved sprinting up a hill. We may have cheated and hopped in a taxi, but we did make it on perfect timing (and managed to take a carton of juice (also known as wine) in with us.

The other three caught up and we had to sneak them in !

The tour guide was amazing, and very Matt Smith as Dr Who vibes – a lot of eccentric prancing about. At one point Cleo and I needed to dive into a restaurant for a wee (a common theme) and then again had to sprint to catch up with the group, who were just about to enter the underground tunnels. It was very cool and very creepy and in my progressive drunkness I ended up calling the Tour Guide ‘Ghost Daddy’ which is probs not the vibe he was going for.

Seeing as it was our last night we decided to end it on a high by going to a cheesy music club. Which is how we fell in a weird kind of love with the Hive. Granted the other places we tried were closed, so we had to settle but we had so much fun. It was the type of sticky floor, shit music that we were craving so badly. Highlight of the night was Ben demanding the club photographer to take another photo because he’d contoured. That’s my boy.

After a very late walk home and telling ghost stories in the dark in the kitchen (don’t ask) we woke up on our last morning of the holiday. By which I mean check out was at 10am, and we all got up at 9:30 and cleaned the apartment in a wild and horrific rush.

But we made it.

The car journey home consisted of Cleo being very sick, looking at the hilarous photos Beth took of the weekend, trying to play games to keep Tash awake, and all trying to cling onto a glimmer of hope that we would be home.

We’ve all moaned on the group chat about how dead and broken we are, and how today has defeated us,  but all in all Edinburgh was amazing, and I am glad to be broken.

Roll on NYE 2018!

Leave a Reply

